How Many Countries Signed up to the Paris Agreement 2015

October 11, 2022 By Admin

The Paris Agreement, signed on 12 December 2015, is an international treaty aimed at reducing global greenhouse gas emissions and mitigating the effects of climate change. The agreement commits nations to limit their greenhouse gas emissions and to keep global warming below 2°C above pre-industrial levels, while pursuing efforts to limit the increase to 1.5°C.

The Paris Agreement has been hailed as a historic milestone in the global fight against climate change. And as of August 2021, 191 countries have signed the agreement. This includes major emitters like China, the United States, India, and the European Union.

However, signing the agreement is just the first step. Countries must also ratify the agreement domestically to make it legally binding. As of August 2021, 189 countries have ratified the Paris Agreement. The two remaining countries, Iran and Turkey, have signed but not yet ratified the agreement.

The Paris Agreement has been a source of controversy, with critics arguing that it unfairly burdens developed countries while allowing developing countries to continue to emit greenhouse gases. Others argue that the agreement doesn`t go far enough in reducing emissions to prevent catastrophic climate change.

Despite these criticisms, the Paris Agreement remains a significant achievement in the fight against climate change. By signing and ratifying the agreement, countries are sending a clear message that tackling climate change is a global priority and that they are committed to taking action to mitigate its effects.